About Us

When an adult reaches out to ULA for tutoring, they are making a significant step toward success. We welcome and respect everyone’s need to feel safe and supported while they share their story with us. All services provided by ULA are FREE and available to the public. We are supported by generous grants, individual donations, and fundraising activities.

Please join us! If you are interested in sharing your love of reading, writing and language with a motivated student, become a part of Ulster Literacy Association. Our community is filled with people who are life-long learners and mentors with something special to give – their love of language, caring for others, and real motivation to strengthen our community.

How we started

In 1981 a small group of concerned citizens sat at a kitchen table discussing ways migrant farmers in Ulster County could have better access to healthcare, school, and the community at large. ULA became a member of Literacy Volunteers of America, and began training volunteers to be literacy tutors for adults. We were then able to offer lessons in basic reading and writing, as well as teaching English as a new language. Tutors provide instruction, support and encouragement to learners from all over the world as well as from right here in Ulster County.

Who we are now

It takes courage for someone to become an adult learner and deal with the pressures of family and work, all while knowing that the road ahead will require perseverance. Our learners often arrive at ULA nervous, unsure, and tentative. Our staff and tutors provide a friendly, safe, and confidential environment where adults are able to learn at their own pace and style. We encourage academic studies as well as exploring the socio-cultural components of language.

Today, ULA supports nearly 400 learners and 200 volunteer tutors, with plans to expand services to meet the growing needs in Ulster County.

To get started, please call our office at 331-6837 to register for an upcoming orientation, or email us.


Meet the ULA Team

Top from left: Casandra Beam, Executive Director; Vyvyan Tenorio, Sarah Mecklem
Bottom from left, Merle Cosgrove, Jackie Kellachan, Bruce Jackson

Board Of Directors

Merle Cosgrove, President

Bruce Jackson, Treasurer

Vyvyan Tenorio, Secretary

Sarah Mecklem, Director

Jacqueline Kellachan, Director

Staff

Casandra Beam
Executive Director
Casandra@ulsterliteracy.org
Lisa Hantes
RSVP Volunteer Coordinator
Lisa@ulsterliteracy.org


Amy Lenard
Program Director
Amy@ulsterliteracy.org
Sabrina Joray
Program Assistant
Sabrina@ulsterliteracy.org


Jay Levine
Office Manager
Jay@ulsterliteracy.org
Giuditta Tucci
Outreach Coordinator
Giuditta@ulsterliteracy.org

Tutor Training Team

Sande Dixson, Lead Trainer
sande@ulsterliteracy.org
Linda Greenow
lindag@ulsterliteracy.org